Until March 10, 2015, I loved my job at JobCCC.

Why March 10th? This is when the big company changes occurred at JobCCC. You see, A lot of people in our company were let go, as was the case with many oil and gas companies this year. (Side note I work for a valve and actuation company and work with the actuation product line.) My Manager was let go.  My Manager was awesome. He was knowledgeable (due in part to 30 years with the company). He was respectful. He was open and had an open door. He asked for things, always. never said “Do this!” and ” Do that!” He praised when praise was earned and criticized when needed.  He assisted the best he could and “had my back”. He was a leader. HE was a GOOD manager! Sometimes I make him sound like fricking superman, but that is because I respected him as both a manager and a person. Sure he had his faults, for example, he wouldn’t let me get nasty and/or spiteful with asshole customers. haha, damn him. 😉 ….. My new Manager … is kind of a jerk (this is me being very nice about how I feel about the new manager). The new manager pushes for “openness” and then doesn’t let you say a word. If you try to discuss ANYTHING with him he “butts in” and will not let you talk, and continues to do so until you either give up and clam up or forget what you were trying to say. He Disagrees with everything I (and most others) say. Never praises…anyone. He Micro-manages and “bird-dogs”. He always be-littles staff and makes demands as opposed to just asking or at least being polite about it. … and he appointed the biggest rat/suck-up in the office as the office supervisor.

So the line of succession used to be: District Manager – Good Manager – Myself … Now it is: District Manager – Bad Manager – Tattle-tale Brown noser Supervisor – Myself … makes sense doesn’t it? 2 negatives equal a positive?? only if you are in math class and only if you are multiplying …or dividing … or … well you get the point.

The … New Manager (and most of the ignorant “plant” staff) seem to think I do nothing but deal with 1 distributor … wait what! Really?? why would there even be a position for dealing with 1 distributor who only gets stock orders 1-2 times per year purchasing just this 1 product … What the F#@$!?  Others seem to think I have so much spare time on my hands that I can do this and do that and ooohh hey … do some of this too, even though none of these are related to my job at all, and some of them are that persons job. Most of the time I think it is pure laziness… too lazy to do their own job, too lazy to find the correct person, too lazy to search Google, too lazy to even search through their own email for a document that was sent to them MULTIPLE times!

So…

I was hired as (basically to sum it up) an assistant to the “actuation guy”, let’s call him K for simplicity, and time permitting to help out on the valve side. Basically I was to assist with quotes, a bit of technical support and occasionally sales entry.

This all changed when K left (just 3 months after I started. Keep in mind that K was the ONLY person in Canada (within our company) who knew anything about this product line … on the Sales, planning, pricing, inventory and technical side (to name a few) [other than an engineer…who is of course very technical only … sales, pricing etc. are like Greek to him]) I was left with the responsibility of handling that product for Canada and it was either sink or swim… I swam. I swam hard and struggled. I am still trying to swim and am still struggling.

I am currently the only inside sales / Tech support for this product in Canada This puts a lot of pressure on me, I am lucky to have 1 person (an engineer who knows the product from an engineering side) in our plant  for help, advice and more advanced technical knowledge. In all honesty, sometimes he seems to be the ONLY person able and willing to assist and advise me (on the Canada side). But overall, I am it. There is minimal assistance out there for me (there is likely a lot, but no one willing) which has added to my struggle with my position. But I do it. I learned about 80% of my job on my own.  K left and I had NO-ONE to teach me. As previously mentioned – sink or swim.

My positions with all I do in no particular order include but are not limited to:

Customer Service

Quotes Person

Order Entry

Expediter

Document Control

Technical support

Safety/HSE Personnel

Each one of these can be and is a full time job, (seriously, we have a whole document control department! We have people dedicated to doing just quotes, we have project managers who’s main job is expediting! …you get the point) but I manage them all!

I picked up this position with no change in title, no pay raise to accommodate the massive amount of extra work, tasks, positions and “fights” I had taken on. I picked up this position with no one to “teach” me how to do it, and little to no assistance from my co-workers. But I did it. I stepped up to the plate, I took on the responsibility and I loved it! I loved the pressure. I loved the challenge. I loved the independence and self-teachings. I did it, assuming that my commitment, reliability, hard work and dependability (etc) would be noticed and eventually pay off. My old manager noticed … but he is gone now.

**Please note that I am not trying to compare my job to yours. I am just simply venting, and doing some complaining. I am entitled to some complaining now and then…When you go from loving your job to hating it passionately within a day … some venting and complaining is necessary.

One thought on “Until March 10, 2015, I loved my job at JobCCC.

Leave a Reply

